1861 May 9th

May 9 1861 Thursday

San Lucas Springs, TX
Gloucester Point, VA

Camp Jackson Operations

Go to May 10 1861

France. The delegation of William L Yancey, Pierre A Rost, and A Dudley Mann met Napoleon III of France to seek recognition for the Confederate government. No commitment was made by the French to intervene unless they were joined by the British government. Further solicitation of the British government proved fruitless despite persistent efforts. Subsequently, several months later, Yancey was recalled, while Mann and Rost were sent to Spain and Belgium.

Great Britain. Former US Navy officer James Dunwoody Bulloch was ordered by the Confederate government to travel to Great Britain to purchase ships, guns, and ammunition.

CSA. The Confederate Congress authorised President Jefferson Finis Davis to raise such forces for the duration of the war as was deemed expedient.

District of Columbia. The steamers Philadelphia, Baltimore, Powhatan, and Mount Vernon were armed by the Union authorities to provide an improvised naval defence of the capital on the Potomac River.

Maryland. The US Naval Academy was transferred from Annapolis to Newport, Rhode Island, for the duration of the war.

Maryland. Union troops heading for Washington, DC, landed at Locust Point near Baltimore and were conveyed through the city on a branch line of the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad.

Texas. Union Lieutenant-Colonel Reeves was in command of six companies of the 8th US Infantry near San Lucas Springs, about 22 miles west of San Antonio. They were compelled to surrender to a pro-Confederate Texan force commanded by Confederate Colonel Earl Van Dorn. Along with the infantry, several officers on leave were also captured and paroled.

Gloucester Point, Virginia. The steamer USS Yankee was fired on by Confederate batteries at Gloucester Point on the York River near Yorktown. This was the first exchange of fire by the Union Navy against pro-Confederate forces in the state of Virginia, which had not yet officially seceded and joined the Confederacy. More Confederate batteries were erected around Norfolk, at Craney Island, Sandy Point, the Hospital, Fort Norfolk, and the Bluffs.

Virginia. The USS Cumberland, USS Pawnee, USS Monticello, and USS Yankee began to enforce the blockade from Fort Monroe.

Union Organisation

USA: The Department of the Ohio was extended to include the parts of Pennsylvania and Virginia north of the Kanawha River and west of the Greenbrier River, and on a line drawn from the Greenbrier River to the southwest corner of Maryland, then to the Pennsylvania border and to the northeast corner of McKean County in Pennsylvania, to its existing area of Illinois, Ohio, and Indiana. These areas were detached from the Department of the East and the Department of Pennsylvania.

Commander in Chief: President Abraham Lincoln
Vice-President: Hannibal Hamlin
Secretary of War: Simon Cameron
Secretary of the Navy: Gideon Welles

Coast Blockading Squadron: Silas Horton Stringham
Gulf Blockading Squadron: William Mervine
Pacific Squadron: John Berrien Montgomery
Potomac Flotilla: James Harmon Ward

General–in-Chief: Winfield Scott

Department of Annapolis: Benjamin Franklin Butler awaited

Department of the East: John Ellis Wool

Department of Florida: Harvey Brown

Department of New Mexico: Vacant

Department of the Ohio: George Brinton McClellan awaited

Department of the Pacific: Edwin Vose Sumner

  • District of Oregon: George Wright

Department of Pennsylvania: Robert Patterson

Department of Texas: Vacant

Department of Utah: Philip St George Cooke

Department of Washington: Joseph King Fenno Mansfield

Department of the West: Edmund Brooke Alexander temporary

Confederate Organisation

Commander in Chief: President Jefferson Finis Davis
Vice-President: Alexander Hamilton Stephens
Secretary of War: Leroy Pope Walker
Secretary of the Navy: Stephen Russell Mallory

Department of Alexandria: Philip St George Cocke

  • Alexandria Line: Philip St George Cocke

Department of North Carolina: Theophilus Hunter Holmes

  • Defences of North Carolina: Theophilus Hunter Holmes

Department of South Carolina: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard

  • “Forces in Charleston”: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard

Department of Southwestern Virginia: William Wing Loring

Department of Texas: Earl Van Dorn

Department of West Florida: Braxton Bragg

  • “Forces in Pensacola”: Braxton Bragg

District of Louisiana: David Emanuel Twiggs

  • “Forces in New Orleans” “Army of Louisiana”: Braxton Bragg

Defences of Savannah: Alexander Robert Lawton

Potomac Line: Daniel Ruggles

Forces in Harper’s Ferry”: Thomas Jonathan Jackson

“Forces in Norfolk”: Walter Gwynn

Forces in Richmond: John Bankhead Magruder

Forces in the Kanawha Valley: Christopher Quarles Tompkins

Union Generals

Major-General USA

Winfield Scott

Brigadier-General USA

John Ellis Wool
William Selby Harney
Edwin Vose Sumner

Confederate Generals

Note: Italics, awaiting confirmation of the commission

Major-General PACS

David Emanuel Twiggs

Brigadier-General ACSA

Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard
Braxton Bragg

Brigadier-General PACS

Alexander Robert Lawton
Milledge Lake Bonham

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close