1861 May 25th

May 25 1861 Saturday

Chesapeake Bay Blockade

Tennessee. The publication of an inflammatory editorial by the Honorable William G Brownlow in the Knoxville Whig entitled “Murder Will Out” led to his arrest by Confederate officials.

Virginia. The Union 69th New York Infantry destroyed seven barges and five miles of railroad between Alexandria and Leesburg.

Virginia. The steamer Thomas Colyer was captured by USS Pawnee, Commander Stephen Clegg Rowan, at Alexandria.

Virginia. USS Minnesota, Captain Silas Horton Stringham, seized the bark Winfred near Hampton Roads.

Union Organisation

Commander in Chief: President Abraham Lincoln

Vice-President: Hannibal Hamlin

Secretary of War: Simon Cameron

Secretary of the Navy: Gideon Welles

  • Coast Blockading Squadron USN: Flag Officer Silas Horton Stringham USN
  • Gulf Blockading Squadron USN: Flag Officer William Mervine USN
  • Pacific Squadron USN: Captain John B Montgomery USN
  • Western Gunboat Flotilla USN: Commander John Rodgers USN
  • Potomac Flotilla USN: Commander James Harmon Ward USN

General–in-Chief: Winfield Scott

  • Department of Annapolis: John Adams Dix
  • Department of the East: John Ellis Wool
  • Department of Florida: Harvey Brown
  • Department of New Mexico: Edward Richard Sprigg Canby
  • Department of the Ohio: George Brinton McClellan
  • Department of the Pacific: Edwin Vose Sumner
    • District of Oregon: George Wright
  • Department of Pennsylvania: Robert Patterson
  • Department of Texas: Vacant
  • Department of Utah: Philip St George Cooke
  • Department of Virginia: Benjamin Franklin Butler
  • Department of Washington: Joseph King Fenno Mansfield
  • Department of the West: William Selby Harney

Confederate Organisation

CSA: William Henry Talbot Walker was promoted Brigadier-General PACS 25 May 1861

Walker, William Henry Talbot / Georgia / Born 26 November 1816 Augusta, Georgia / KIA Atlanta, Georgia 22 July 1864
USMA 1 July 1837 46/59 Infantry / Cadet USMA 1 July 1832 / 6th US Infantry 1 July 1837 / 2nd Lieutenant USA 31 July 1837 / 1st Lieutenant USA 1 February 1838 / Resigned USA 31 October 1838 / 1st Lieutenant USA 6th US Infantry 18 November 1840 to rank from 1 February 1838 / Captain USA 7 November 1845 / Commandant of Cadets USMA 31 July 1854-22 May 1856 / Major USA 10th US Infantry 3 March 1855 / Resigned USA 20 December 1860 / Colonel 2nd Georgia Militia 1 February 1861 / Major-General Georgia Militia 13 March 1861 / Colonel PACS Infantry 25 April 1861 / Brigadier-General PACS 25 May 1861 / Resigned PACS 29 October 1861 / Brigadier-General Georgia Militia 25 November 1861-January 1863 / Brigadier-General PACS 9 February 1863 / Major-General PACS 23 May 1863 / Brevet 2nd Lieutenant USA 1 July 1837 Brevet 1st Lieutenant USA 25 December 1837 Brevet Major USA 20 August 1847 Brevet Lieutenant-Colonel USA 8 September 1847 / WIA Lake Okeechobee, Florida 25 December 1837 WIA Churubusco 20 August 1847 WIA Molino del Rey 8 September 1847
1st Brigade 4th Division District of the Potomac 22 October 1861-29 October 1861 / Walker’s Brigade Military Division of the West May 1863-21 May 1863 / Walker’s Division Military Division of the West 21 May 1863-July 1863 / Walker’s Division Department of Mississippi and East Louisiana July 1863-23 August 1863 / Reserve Corps Tennessee 23 August 1863-4 November 1863 / Walker’s Division I Corps Army of Tennessee December 1863-22 July 1864

Commander in Chief: President Jefferson Finis Davis

Vice-President: Alexander Hamilton Stephens

Secretary of War: Leroy Pope Walker

Secretary of the Navy: Stephen Russell Mallory

  • Department of Alexandria: Milledge Luke Bonham
    • Army of the Potomac: Milledge Luke Bonham
  • Department of Norfolk: Jones Mitchell Withers temporary Benjamin Huger awaited
  • Department of North Carolina: Theophilus Hunter Holmes
    • Defences of North Carolina: Theophilus Hunter Holmes
  • Department of South Carolina: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard
    • “Forces in Charleston”: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard
  • Department of Southwestern Virginia: William Wing Loring
  • Department of Texas: Earl Van Dorn
  • Department of West Florida: Braxton Bragg
    • “Forces in Pensacola”: Braxton Bragg
  • District of Louisiana: David Emanuel Twiggs
    • “Forces in New Orleans” “Army of Louisiana”: Braxton Bragg
  • Defences of Savannah: Alexander Robert Lawton
  • Indian Territory: Benjamin McCulloch
  • Potomac Line: Daniel Ruggles
  • Hampton Line: John Bankhead Magruder
  • Forces in Harper’s Ferry”: Joseph Eggleston Johnston
  • Forces in Richmond: Thomas Turner Fauntleroy
  • Forces in the Kanawha Valley: Christopher Quarles Tompkins

Union Generals

Note: Italics, awaiting confirmation of the commission

Major-General USA

Winfield Scott
George Brinton McClellan
John Charles Frémont

Major-General USV

John Adams Dix
Nathaniel Prentiss Banks
Benjamin Franklin Butler

Brigadier-General USA

John Ellis Wool
William Selby Harney
Edwin Vose Sumner
Joseph King Fenno Mansfield
Irvin McDowell
Robert Anderson
William Starke Rosecrans

Brigadier-General USV

Samuel Peter Heintzelman
David Hunter
Erasmus Darwin Keyes
Andrew Porter
Fitz-John Porter
William Buel Franklin
William Tecumseh Sherman
Charles Pomeroy Stone
Don Carlos Buell
Thomas West Sherman
Nathaniel Lyon
John Pope
George Archibald McCall
William Reading Montgomery
Philip Kearny
Joseph Hooker
John Wolcott Phelps
Ulysses Simpson Grant
Joseph Jones Reynolds
Samuel Ryan Curtis
Charles Smith Hamilton
Darius Nash Couch
Rufus King
Jacob Dolson Cox
Stephen Augustus Hurlbut
Franz Sigel
Robert Cumming Schenck
Benjamin Mayberry Prentiss
Frederick West Lander
Benjamin Franklin Kelley
John Alexander McClernand
Alpheus Starkey Williams
Israel Bush Richardson
James Cooper

Brigadier-General USA (Staff)

Montgomery Cunningham Meigs

 Confederate Generals

Note: Italics, awaiting confirmation of the commission

General ACSA

Samuel Cooper

Major-General PACS

David Emanuel Twiggs

Brigadier-General ACSA

Robert Edward Lee
Joseph Eggleston Johnston
Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard
Braxton Bragg

Brigadier-General PACS

Alexander Robert Lawton
Milledge Lake Bonham
Benjamin McCulloch
William Wing Loring
Charles Clark
John Buchanan Floyd
William Henry Talbot Walker

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close