1861 May 1st

May 1 1861 Wednesday

Go to May 2 1861

Maryland. USS Commerce, Lieutenant Pierce Crosby, seized the steam tug Lioness off the mouth of the Patapsco River.

Nebraska Territory. Governor Samuel W Black called out the Territorial Militia for Union service.

New Mexico Territory. Colonel William Wing Loring resigned his command of the Union Department of New Mexico, leaving the post temporarily vacant, in order to join the Confederacy.

New York. The first vessels were acquired by the Union for assignment to the “Flying Flotilla” or Potomac Flotilla planned to patrol the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries.

North Carolina. An extra session of the North Carolina state legislature met at the request of Governor Ellis. On the same day the legislature passed a Convention Bill, ordering an election of delegates on 13 May 1861.

Tennessee. The Tennessee state legislature passed a joint resolution authorising the Governor to appoint commissioners to enter into a military league with the authorities of the Confederate States.

Indian Territory. Confederate forces and Texas Militia entered the Indian Territory and occupied the abandoned Fort Washita.

Utah Territory. Frank Fuller succeeded Alfred Cumming as Acting Governor of Utah Territory.

Virginia. The Union garrison of Fort Monroe was reinforced by the 1st Vermont Infantry under Colonel John Wolcott Phelps. Several more volunteer regiments quickly followed to secure its defence.

Virginia.  Virginia State Major-General Robert Edward Lee sent specialist officers and troops to the Harper’s Ferry Arsenal to dismantle the weapons manufacturing machinery and ordnance stores which had escaped destruction by the Union garrison.

Virginia. Governor John Letcher called for volunteers to join the state forces.

Virginia. US Navy vessels established a blockade of the James River and Hampton Roads.

Union Organisation

USA: Command of the Department of New Mexico became vacant after Colonel William Wing Loring resigned to join the Confederacy.

Commander in Chief: President Abraham Lincoln
Vice-President: Hannibal Hamlin
Secretary of War: Simon Cameron
Secretary of the Navy: Gideon Welles

Pacific Squadron: John Berrien Montgomery
Potomac Flotilla: James Harmon Ward

General–in-Chief: Winfield Scott

Department of Annapolis: Benjamin Franklin Butler awaited

Department of the East: John Ellis Wool

Department of Florida: Harvey Brown

Department of New Mexico: Vacant

Department of the Pacific: Edwin Vose Sumner awaited

  • District of Oregon: George Wright

Department of Pennsylvania: Robert Patterson

Department of Texas: Vacant

Department of Utah: Philip St George Cooke

Department of Washington: Joseph King Fenno Mansfield

Department of the West: Edmund Brooke Alexander temporary

Confederate Organisation

Commander in Chief: President Jefferson Finis Davis
Vice-President: Alexander Hamilton Stephens
Secretary of War: Leroy Pope Walker
Secretary of the Navy: Stephen Russell Mallory

Department of Alexandria: Philip St George Cocke

  • Alexandria Line: Philip St George Cocke

Department of North Carolina: Theophilus Hunter Holmes

  • Defences of North Carolina: Theophilus Hunter Holmes

Department of South Carolina: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard

  • “Forces in Charleston”: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard

Department of Texas: Earl Van Dorn

Department of West Florida: Braxton Bragg

  • “Forces in Pensacola”: Braxton Bragg

District of Louisiana: David Emanuel Twiggs

  • “Forces in New Orleans” “Army of Louisiana”: Braxton Bragg

Defences of Savannah: Alexander Robert Lawton

Potomac Line: Daniel Ruggles

“Forces in Harper’s Ferry”: Thomas Jonathan Jackson

“Forces in Norfolk”: Walter Gwynn

Forces in Richmond: Joseph Eggleston Johnston

Union Generals

Major-General USA

Winfield Scott

Brigadier-General USA

John Ellis Wool
William Selby Harney
Edwin Vose Sumner

Confederate Generals

Note: Italics, awaiting confirmation of the commission

Major-General PACS

David Emanuel Twiggs

Brigadier-General ACSA

Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard
Braxton Bragg

Brigadier-General PACS

Alexander Robert Lawton
Milledge Lake Bonham

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close