1861 March 6th

March 6 1861 Wednesday

CSA. The membership of the Confederate States’ Cabinet was completed. It comprised:

Secretary of State Robert Augustus Toombs
Secretary of War Leroy Pope Walker
Secretary of the Navy Stephen Russell Mallory
Secretary of the Treasury Christopher G Memminger
Attorney General Judah Philip Benjamin
Postmaster General John Henninger Reagan.

CSA. The Confederacy established a Regular Army, termed the Army of the Confederate States of America (ACSA). It was intended to be an equivalent of the US Regular Army but it never properly existed in a tangible form. The ACSA adopted the rules and regulations of the US Regular Army, apart from the name. The Regular Army was authorised to appoint four Brigadier-Generals. About 750 officers were commissioned in the Regular Army (ACSA). All former US Army officers would be commissioned at the same relative rank in the Confederate Army, although in practice the majority were assigned to at least one grade higher.

CSA. The Confederate Provisional Congress called for volunteers to create the Provisional Army of the Confederate States (PACS) which was to become the effective military force of the Confederacy. The Act permitted the establishment of an army not exceeding 100,000 men for twelve months’ service. Congress also authorised the creation of staff, brigades, and divisions. The majority of Confederate officers were to be given assignments in the Provisional Army (PACS).

CSA. The Confederate Congress passed an act establishing the Confederate States Lighthouse Bureau, its chief officer to be a captain or commander of the Confederate States’ Navy. The former US Navy Commander Raphael Semmes was assigned to the command, reporting for duty on 4 April 1861.

District of Columbia. The US President Abraham Lincoln refused to meet three envoys, Martin J Crawford, John Forsyth, and A B Brown sent by the Confederate Government.  They envoys attempted to arrange meetings with the new Federal administration.

Missouri. The Missouri state convention called for a convention of the Southern states which have not seceded, to meet at Nashville, Tennessee, on 15 April 1861 “providing for such amendments to the Constitution of the United States as shall secure to all the states equal rights in the Union”, declaring strongly against secession.

South Carolina. Confederate Brigadier-General Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard took steps to ensure that no supplies were available to help the garrison of Fort Sumter, where food was running out. He increased the frequency of training drills amongst the South Carolina Militia, preparing them to operate the guns facing the fort. Ironically, the fort’s garrison commander Major Robert Anderson had been Beauregard’s artillery instructor at West Point Military Academy and Beauregard had become Anderson’s assistant after graduation.

Texas. Surrender of Fort Brown to the Texas state authorities.

Union Organisation

Commander in Chief: President Abraham Lincoln

Vice-President: Hannibal Hamlin

Secretary of War: Simon Cameron

Secretary of the Navy: Isaac Toucey

African Squadron: William Inman
Brazil Squadron: Joshua Ratoon Sands
East Indian (Asiatic) Squadron: Cornelius Kinchiloe Stribling
European Squadron: vacant
Home Squadron: Garrett J Prendergast
Mediterranean Squadron: Charles H Bell
Pacific Squadron: John Berrien Montgomery

General–in-Chief: Winfield Scott

Department of the East: John Ellis Wool

Department of New Mexico: Thomas T Fauntleroy interim, William Wing Loring awaited

Department of the Pacific: Albert Sidney Johnston

  • District of Oregon: George Wright

Department of Texas: Carlos Adolphus Waite

Department of Utah: Philip St George Cooke

Department of the West: William Selby Harney

Confederate Organisation

CSA: Brigadier-General Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard arrived to assume command of the Department of South Carolina.

CSA: Brigadier-General Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard arrived to assume command of the Forces in Charleston.

Beauregard, Pierre Gustave Toutant / Louisiana / Born 28 May 1818 St Bernard, Louisiana / Died New Orleans, Louisiana 20 February 1893
USMA 1 July 1838 2/45 Artillery-Engineers / Cadet USMA 1 July 1834 / 2nd Lieutenant USA 1st US Artillery 1 July 1838 / Engineers 7 July 1838 / 1st Lieutenant USA 16 June 1839 / Chief Engineer US Army in Mexico 1847 / Captain USA Engineers 3 March 1853 / Superintendent USMA 23 January 1861-28 January 1861 / Resigned USA 20 February 1861 / Brigadier-General ACSA 1 March 1861 / General ACSA 31 August 1861 to rank from 21 July 1861 / Paroled Greensboro, North Carolina 2 May 1865 / Brevet Captain USA 20 August 1847 / WIA Chapultepec 13 September 1847 Brevet Major USA 13 September 1847
Department of South Carolina 3 March 1861-27 May 1861 / Forces in Charleston (Defences of Charleston) 3 March 1861-27 May 1861 / Department of the Potomac 31 May 1861-2 June 1861 / Alexandria Line 2 June 1861-20 June 1861 / Army of the Potomac 20 June 1862-19 July 1861 / I Corps Potomac 21 July 1861-14 March 1862 / District of the Potomac 22 October 1861-29 January 1862 / Army of Mississippi 5 March 1862-29 March 1862 / Western Department 6 April 1862-26 June 1862 / Army of Mississippi 6 April 1862-6 May 1862 / Department of South Carolina and Georgia 29 August 1862-7 October 1862 / Department of South Carolina Georgia and Florida 7 October 1862-18 April 1864 / Department of North Carolina and Southern Virginia 18 April 1864-14 May 1864 / Department of North Carolina and Southern Virginia 20 May 1864-27 September 1864 / Defences of Drewry’s Bluff 14 May 1864-20 May 1864 / Defences of Petersburg 27 September 1864-1 October 1864 / Military Division of the West 3 October 1864-April 1865 / 16 December 1864 / Chief of Staff Department of North Carolina and Southern Virginia 27 February 1865-26 April 1865 / Chief of Staff Department of South Carolina, Georgia and Florida 27 February 1865-26 April 1865 / Chief of Staff Department of Tennessee 27 February 1865-26 April 1865 / Army of Tennessee 14 January 1865-22 January 1865

Commander in Chief: President Jefferson Finis Davis

Vice-President: Alexander Hamilton Stephens

Secretary of War: Leroy Pope Walker

Secretary of the Navy: Stephen Russell Mallory

 “Department of Louisiana”: Braxton Bragg

  • “Forces in New Orleans” “Army of Louisiana”: Braxton Bragg

Department of South Carolina: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard

  • “Forces in Charleston”: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard

Union Generals

Major-General USA

Winfield Scott

Brigadier-General USA

John Ellis Wool
David Emanuel Twiggs

Brigadier-General USA (Staff)

Joseph Eggleston Johnston

Confederate Generals

Brigadier-General ACSA

Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close