1861 June 11th

June 11 1861 Tuesday

Loyal Government of Western Virginia declared

Chesapeake Bay Blockade
McClellan’s West Virginia Campaign
Lyon’s Operations in Missouri

Go to June 12 1861

CSA. James Dunwoody Bulloch became Confederate Naval Agent in Europe, serving until April 1865.

Maryland. Maryland Commissioners McKaig, Yellott, and Harding had visited Confederate President Jefferson Finis Davis on behalf of the State and presented their report to the Maryland state legislature. Accompanying their report was a letter from President Davis, expressing his gratification to hear that the State of Maryland was in sympathy with the Confederate States, was on the side of peace and reconciliation, and avowing his willingness for a cessation of hostilities and a readiness to receive any proposition for peace from the United States government.

Maryland. Cumberland was occupied by Union forces.

Missouri. Attempts were made to reconcile the opposing factions in Missouri. The call-up of the secessionist Missouri State Guard was halted by the legislature and an informal truce was negotiated between discredited Union Brigadier-General William Selby Harney and Confederate State Major-General Sterling Price, commander of the Missouri State Guard. However, the appointment of Union Brigadier-General Nathaniel Lyon to replace Harney in command of Union forces in Missouri led to a collapse of negotiations, with Lyon angrily insisting he would kill every man, woman, and child in the state before compromising his right to operate against Missouri Rebels as he saw fit. Governor Claiborne Jackson and Price fled toward the capital at Jefferson City, arriving there on 12 June.

New Mexico Terrtitory. Following the departure of Colonel William Wing Loring to join the Confederacy, Colonel Edward Richard Sprigg Canby (19th US Infantry) was assigned to command the Department of New Mexico. Apart from conducting operations on the frontier against the native Amerians, he was also expected to oppose Confederate attempts to infiltrate the southwestern territories and to protect the route to California.

Virginia. The Union victory at Philippi inspired vocal protests against secession in western Virginia. Representatives of Western Virginian counties met at Wheeling, Virginia, and refused to secede from the Union. They proclaimed their own State government in Western Virginia, which was recognised as the “Loyal Virginia Government” by the US government.

Union Organisation

USA: Colonel Edward Richard Sprigg Canby (19th US Infantry) was appointed to full command of the Department of New Mexico, arriving on 23 June 1861.

USA: Major-General Nathaniel Prentiss Banks arrived to command the Department of Annapolis, succeeding Major-General John Adams Dix.

Commander in Chief: President Abraham Lincoln
Vice-President: Hannibal Hamlin
Secretary of War: Simon Cameron
Secretary of the Navy: Gideon Welles

Atlantic Blockading Squadron: Silas Horton Stringham
Gulf Blockading Squadron: William Mervine
Pacific Squadron: John Berrien Montgomery
West Indies Squadron: Garrett J Pendergrast
Western Gunboat Flotilla: John Rodgers
Potomac Flotilla: James Harmon Ward

General–in-Chief: Winfield Scott

Department of Annapolis: Nathaniel Prentiss Banks

Department of the East: John Ellis Wool

Department of Florida: Harvey Brown

Department of Kentucky: Robert Anderson

Department of New Mexico: Edward Richard Sprigg Canby

Department of Northeastern Virginia: Irvin McDowell

Department of the Ohio: George Brinton McClellan

Department of the Pacific: Edwin Vose Sumner

  • District of Oregon: George Wright

Department of Pennsylvania: Robert Patterson

  • Army of the Shenandoah: Robert Patterson

Department of Texas: Vacant

Department of Utah: Philip St George Cooke

Department of Virginia: Benjamin Franklin Butler

Department of Washington: Joseph King Fenno Mansfield

Department of the West: Nathaniel Lyon

Confederate Organisation

Commander in Chief: President Jefferson Finis Davis
Vice-President: Alexander Hamilton Stephens
Secretary of War: Leroy Pope Walker
Secretary of the Navy: Stephen Russell Mallory

Military Adviser to the President: Robert Edward Lee

Department No 1: David Emanuel Twiggs

  • “Forces in New Orleans” “Army of Louisiana”: Braxton Bragg

Department of Fredericksburg: Theophilus Hunter Holmes

Department of the Potomac: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard

  • Army of the Potomac: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard

Department of Norfolk: Benjamin Huger

Department of North Carolina: Theophilus Hunter Holmes

  • Defences of North Carolina: Theophilus Hunter Holmes

Department of the Peninsula: Daniel Harvey Hill temporary

  • Army of the Peninsula: Daniel Harvey Hill temporary

Department of South Carolina: Daniel Harvey Hill

Department of Southwestern Virginia: William Wing Loring

Department of Texas: Earl Van Dorn

Department of West Florida: Braxton Bragg

  • “Forces in Pensacola”: Braxton Bragg

Defences of Savannah: Alexander Robert Lawton

Indian Territory: Benjamin McCulloch

Forces in Harper’s Ferry”: Joseph Eggleston Johnston

Forces in Richmond: Thomas Turner Fauntleroy

Army of the Kanawha: Henry Alexander Wise

Army of the Northwest: Robert Selden Garnett

Union Generals

Note: Italics, awaiting confirmation of the commission

Major-General USA

Winfield Scott
George Brinton McClellan
John Charles Frémont

Major-General USV

John Adams Dix
Nathaniel Prentiss Banks
Benjamin Franklin Butler

Brigadier-General USA

John Ellis Wool
William Selby Harney
Edwin Vose Sumner
Joseph King Fenno Mansfield
Irvin McDowell
Robert Anderson
William Starke Rosecrans

Brigadier-General USV

Samuel Peter Heintzelman
David Hunter
Erasmus Darwin Keyes
Andrew Porter
Fitz-John Porter
William Buel Franklin
William Tecumseh Sherman
Charles Pomeroy Stone
Don Carlos Buell
Thomas West Sherman
Nathaniel Lyon
John Pope
George Archibald McCall
William Reading Montgomery
Philip Kearny
Joseph Hooker
John Wolcott Phelps
Ulysses Simpson Grant
Joseph Jones Reynolds
Samuel Ryan Curtis
Charles Smith Hamilton
Darius Nash Couch
Rufus King
Jacob Dolson Cox
Stephen Augustus Hurlbut
Franz Sigel
Robert Cumming Schenck
Benjamin Mayberry Prentiss
Frederick West Lander
Benjamin Franklin Kelley
John Alexander McClernand
Alpheus Starkey Williams
Israel Bush Richardson
James Cooper

Brigadier-General USA (Staff)

Montgomery Cunningham Meigs

Confederate Generals

Note: Italics, awaiting confirmation of the commission

General ACSA

Samuel Cooper
Albert Sidney Johnston

Major-General PACS

David Emanuel Twiggs

Brigadier-General ACSA

Robert Edward Lee
Joseph Eggleston Johnston
Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard
Braxton Bragg

Brigadier-General PACS

Alexander Robert Lawton
Milledge Lake Bonham
Benjamin McCulloch
William Wing Loring
Charles Clark
John Buchanan Floyd
William Henry Talbot Walker
Henry Rootes Jackson
Theophilus Hunter Holmes
Henry Alexander Wise
Earl Van Dorn
Robert Selden Garnett

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close