1861 January 29th

January 29 1861 Tuesday

Kansas admitted to the Union

Florida. The US Marines and troops aboard USS Brooklyn (Captain Walker) en route to Pensacola and Fort Pickens were ordered not to land to reinforce Fort Pickens unless the fort was under attack by pro-Confederates.

Kansas. Kansas was admitted to the Union as the thirty-fourth state. Under the Wyandotte Constitution, the state would be a “Free State” and would not permit the ownership of slaves. This addition of new members antipathetical to slavery to Congress increased the concern of the Southern states that the balance of political power was shifting away from slave-holding states to Free states. The state of Kansas remained under the control of the Union Department of the West after its admission to the Union.

Louisiana. US Secretary of the Treasury John Adams Dix wired Agent William H Jones at New Orleans ordering him not to surrender the US Revenue Cutter Robert McClelland and to defend it with force if necessary, with the phrase: “If anyone attempts to haul down the American flag, shoot him on the spot”. Nevertheless, the USRC Robert McClelland was surrendered by Captain John G Breshwood USRM to the Louisiana authorities against Jones’ orders.

Texas. The Texas state legislature passed a resolution declaring that the US Government had no power to coerce a sovereign state after it had pronounced its separation from the Union.

Union Organisation

Commander in Chief: President James Buchanan

Vice-President: John Cabell Breckinridge

Secretary of War: Joseph Holt

Secretary of the Navy: Isaac Toucey

  • African Squadron USN: Captain William Inman USN
  • Brazil Squadron USN: Captain Joshua R Sands USN.
  • East Indian (Asiatic) Squadron USN: Captain Cornelius K Stribling USN
  • European Squadron USN: vacant
  • Home Squadron USN: Captain Garrett J Prendergast USN
  • Mediterranean Squadron USN: Captain Charles H Bell USN
  • Pacific Squadron USN: Captain John B Montgomery USN

General–in-Chief: Winfield Scott

  • Department of the East: John Ellis Wool
  • Department of New Mexico: Thomas Turner Fauntleroy interim, William Wing Loring awaited
  • Department of the Pacific: Albert Sidney Johnston
    • District of Oregon: George Wright
  • Department of Texas: David Emanuel Twiggs
  • Department of Utah: Philip St George Cooke
  • Department of the West: William Selby Harney

Union Generals

Major-General USA

Winfield Scott

Brigadier-General USA

John Ellis Wool
David Emanuel Twiggs
William Selby Harney

Brigadier-General USA (Staff)

Joseph Eggleston Johnston

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close