1861 January 10th

January 10 1861 Thursday

Florida Seceded

Go to January 11 1861

Florida. The ordinance of secession was adopted at Tallahassee, by a vote of 62 to 7, and Florida became the third state to secede from the Union after South Carolina and Mississippi.

Florida. Union Lieutenant Adam Jacoby Slemmer, commanding Company G 1st US Artillery in the absence of Captain John Henry Winder, spiked the guns at Fort Barrancas near Pensacola, blew up the ammunition at Fort McRae, and occupied Fort Pickens. Despite initial vacillation by Commodore James Armstrong USN, the USS Wyandotte towed the garrison and all moveable supplies to Fort Pickens to permit its defence. The USS Wyandotte stayed in support but the store-ship Supply was soon sent to New York with the families of the garrison.

Louisiana. The US Arsenal at Baton Rouge was seized by Louisiana State troops led by Militia Colonel Braxton Bragg and by order of Governor Thomas O Moore. The Arsenal contained 50,000 small arms, 4 howitzers, 20 heavy pieces of ordnance and 300 barrels of gunpowder.

Massachusetts. Reinforcements intended for the garrison at Fort Pickens, Florida, departed from Boston harbour.

Mississippi. The state of Mississippi received Commissioners from other States and adopted several resolutions recognising South Carolina as a sovereign and independent state.

North Carolina. Fort Caswell was occupied by North Carolina state troops and citizens from Smithville and Wilmington.

Texas. Federal guns and military stores on board the steamship Texas were seized by Texas State troops in Galveston.

Virginia. The Virginia Governor transmitted a despatch from the Mississippi Convention, announcing the option of unconditional secession from the Union, and desiring on the basis of the old Constitution to form a new union with the seceding States. The Virginia House adopted an amendment submitting to a vote of the people the question of referring for their decision any action of the convention dissolving Virginia’s connection to the Union, or changing its organic law. The Richmond Enquirer denounced “the emasculation of the Convention Bill as imperilling all that Virginians hold most sacred and dear.”

Union Organisation

Commander in Chief: President James Buchanan
Vice-President: John Cabell Breckinridge
Secretary of War: Joseph Holt
Secretary of the Navy: Isaac Toucey

African Squadron: William Inman
Brazil Squadron: Joshua Ratoon Sands
East Indian (Asiatic) Squadron: Cornelius Kinchiloe Stribling
European Squadron: vacant
Home Squadron: Garrett J Prendergast
Mediterranean Squadron: Charles H Bell
Pacific Squadron: John Berrien Montgomery

General–in-Chief: Winfield Scott

Department of California: Benjamin Lloyd Beall temporary

Department of the East: John Ellis Wool

Department of New Mexico: Thomas Turner Fauntleroy

Department of Oregon: George Wright

Department of Texas: David Emanuel Twiggs

Department of Utah: Philip St George Cooke

Department of the West: William Selby Harney

Union Generals

Major-General USA

Winfield Scott

Brigadier-General USA

John Ellis Wool
David Emanuel Twiggs
William Selby Harney

Brigadier-General USA (Staff)

Joseph Eggleston Johnston

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close