1861 February 8th

February 8 1861 Friday

Declaration of Independence of the Confederate States of America

Go to February 9 1861

USA. The Constitution for a provisional Confederate States government was adopted by seven states at Montgomery, namely, Mississippi, South Carolina, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, and Texas. Montgomery became the provisional capital of the Confederate States of America. This is deemed conventionally to be the date of the creation of the Confederate States of America. The Confederate Constitution shared many similarities with that of the United States but differed in its provisions about slavery and states’ rights.

Arkansas. The US Arsenal at Little Rock was seized by Arkansas state troops on the orders of Governor Henry M Rector. The Arsenal was under the command of Captain James Totten (2nd US Artillery) and held 9,000 small arms, 40 pieces of artillery, and large quantities of ammunition.

Georgia. Five New York ships were seized by order of the Georgia Governor and held until certain guns on board the vessel Monticello, seized by New York City police in January, were delivered to agents of Georgia. In addition, the Georgia Governor ordered the Collector of the Port of Savannah to retain all money from customs in his possession and to make no payment on accounts of the US government.

Oregon Territory. Skirmish with Indians at the Columbia River.

Tennessee. The voters of Tennessee voted against holding a state convention.

Union Organisation

Commander in Chief: President James Buchanan
Vice-President: John Cabell Breckinridge
Secretary of War: Joseph Holt
Secretary of the Navy: Isaac Toucey

African Squadron: William Inman
Brazil Squadron: Joshua Ratoon Sands
East Indian (Asiatic) Squadron: Cornelius Kinchiloe Stribling
European Squadron: vacant
Home Squadron: Garrett J Prendergast
Mediterranean Squadron: Charles H Bell
Pacific Squadron: John Berrien Montgomery

General–in-Chief: Winfield Scott

Department of the Pacific: Albert Sidney Johnston

  • District of Oregon: George Wright

Department of the East: John Ellis Wool

Department of New Mexico: Thomas Turner Fauntleroy

Department of Texas: David Emanuel Twiggs

Department of Utah: Philip St George Cooke

Department of the West: William Selby Harney

Confederate Organisation

Provisional President Thomas Howell Cobb

Union Generals

Major-General USA

Winfield Scott

Brigadier-General USA

John Ellis Wool
David Emanuel Twiggs
William Selby Harney

Brigadier-General USA (Staff)

Joseph Eggleston Johnston

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close