1861 February 9th

February 9 1861 Saturday

Jefferson Finis Davis elected Provisional President of the Confederate States
Alexander Hamilton Stephens elected Provisional Vice-President of the Confederate States

Go to February 10 1861

CSA. The provisional government of the Confederate States of America unanimously elected Jefferson Finis Davis from Mississippi to be the President of the Confederate States of America, He was a West Point graduate, a former US Army officer, and a recent US Secretary of War.

CSA. Alexander Hamilton Stephens of Georgia was elected Vice-President of the Confederate States.

Florida. USS Brooklyn arrived off Pensacola. Troops were not landed at Fort Pickens in compliance with an interim agreement with Florida officials in which the status quo would be maintained. Fort Barrancas and Fort McRae and Pensacola Navy Yard remained in Confederate hands while the Union-held Fort Pickens on Santa Rosa Island. USS Brooklyn, USS Sabine, USS Macedonia, and USS St Louis remained off the harbour, until reinforcements were put ashore at Fort Pickens on 17 April.

Kansas. Charles Robinson became Governor of Kansas in succession to the Territorial Governor, George M Bebee.

Tennessee. Tennessee state authorities refused to call a convention to address the question of secession.

Texas. US Brigadier-General David Emanuel Twiggs appointed a military commission to meet the commissioners of Texas to negotiate the transfer of military posts and property. Twiggs was the third-highest ranking officer in the US Army and commanded the Department of Texas.

Union Organisation

Commander in Chief: President James Buchanan
Vice-President: John Cabell Breckinridge
Secretary of War: Joseph Holt
Secretary of the Navy: Isaac Toucey

African Squadron: William Inman
Brazil Squadron: Joshua Ratoon Sands
East Indian (Asiatic) Squadron: Cornelius Kinchiloe Stribling
European Squadron: vacant
Home Squadron: Garrett J Prendergast
Mediterranean Squadron: Charles H Bell
Pacific Squadron: John Berrien Montgomery

General–in-Chief: Winfield Scott

Department of the Pacific: Albert Sidney Johnston

  • District of Oregon: George Wright

Department of the East: John Ellis Wool

Department of New Mexico: Thomas Turner Fauntleroy

Department of Texas: David Emanuel Twiggs

Department of Utah: Philip St George Cooke

Department of the West: William Selby Harney

Confederate Organisation

President: Thomas Howell Cobb (interim), Jefferson Davis
Vice-President: Alexander Hamilton Stephens

Union Generals

Major-General USA

Winfield Scott

Brigadier-General USA

John Ellis Wool
David Emanuel Twiggs
William Selby Harney

Brigadier-General USA (Staff)

Joseph Eggleston Johnston

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close