1861 February 14th

February 14 1861 Thursday

Go to February 15 1861

CSA.  The Confederate Congress authorised the Committee on Naval Affairs to call together all available maritime and naval specialists across the Confederacy to advise on naval plans.

Florida. The Florida state legislature passed an Act declaring that after any actual collision between Federal troops and those in the employ of Florida, “the act of holding office under the US government shall be declared treason, and any person convicted of such action shall suffer death”. The state of Florida transferred control of captured US government property to the Confederate government.

Union Organisation

Commander in Chief: President James Buchanan
Vice-President: John Cabell Breckinridge
Secretary of War: Joseph Holt
Secretary of the Navy: Isaac Toucey

African Squadron: William Inman
Brazil Squadron: Joshua Ratoon Sands
East Indian (Asiatic) Squadron: Cornelius Kinchiloe Stribling
European Squadron: vacant
Home Squadron: Garrett J Prendergast
Mediterranean Squadron: Charles H Bell
Pacific Squadron: John Berrien Montgomery

General–in-Chief: Winfield Scott

Department of the Pacific: Albert Sidney Johnston

  • District of Oregon: George Wright

Department of the East: John Ellis Wool

Department of New Mexico: Thomas Turner Fauntleroy

Department of Texas: David Emanuel Twiggs

Department of Utah: Philip St George Cooke

Department of the West: William Selby Harney

Confederate Organisation

President: Thomas Howell Cobb (interim)
Vice-President: Alexander Hamilton Stephens

Union Generals

Major-General USA

Winfield Scott

Brigadier-General USA

John Ellis Wool
David Emanuel Twiggs
William Selby Harney

Brigadier-General USA (Staff)

Joseph Eggleston Johnston


%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close