1861 May 3rd

May 3 1861 Friday

Great Britain. British Foreign Minister Lord John Russell met informally with a delegation from the Confederate States comprising William L Yancey, Pierre A Rost, and A Dudley Mann. The Confederate diplomats were seeking recognition for the Confederate government but no commitment was made by the British government.

USA. US President Abraham Lincoln called for 42,000 volunteers for three years’ service and directed an increase in the US Regular Army by the formation of eight new three-battalion regiments of infantry (24 companies each) (11th-18th US Infantry), and one regiment of Regular Army Artillery (5th US Artillery). This raised the Regular Army’s nominal strength to 22,714 men. He also authorised the enlistment of 18,000 seamen for the US Navy.

Missouri. Governor Claiborne Fox Jackson sent a message to the legislature, advising the arming of the state and recommending a sympathetic attitude with the Confederate slave-holding states.

Virginia. Governor John Letcher of Virginia issued a call for additional volunteers to strengthen the defence of the state.

Union Organisation

USA: The Department of the Ohio was established, comprising Illinois, Ohio, and Indiana, to be transferred from the Department of the East.

USA: Major-General of Ohio Militia George Brinton McClellan was appointed to command the Department of the Ohio, arriving on 13 May 1861.

McClellan, George Brinton / Pennsylvania / Born 3 December 1826 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania / Died Orange, New Jersey 29 October 1885
USMA 1 July 1846 2/59 Engineers / Cadet USMA 1 July 1846 / Engineers 1 July 1846 / 2nd Lieutenant USA 24 April 1847 / 1st Lieutenant USA 1 July 1853 / Captain USA 1st US Cavalry 3 March 1855 / Resigned USA 16 January 1857 / Major-General Ohio Militia 23 April 1861 / Major-General USA 14 May 1861 / General-in-Chief of the US Army 1 November 1861-11 March 1862 Relieved 22 July 1862 / Resigned USA 8 November 1864 / Brevet 2nd Lieutenant USA 1 July 1846 Brevet 1 Lt USA 20 August 1847 Brevet Captain USA 13 September 1847 / WIA Contreras 19 August 1847
Department of the Ohio 3 May 1861-23 July 1861 / Department of Virginia 1 June 1861 Declined / Army of Occupation 14 June 1861-23 July 1861 / Military Division (Department) of the Potomac 25 July 1861-17 August 1861 / Department of the Potomac 17 August 1861-5 November 1862 / Army of the Potomac 20 August 1861-9 November 1862 / General-in-Chief 1 November 1861-11 March 1862 / Army of Virginia 2 September 1862-11 September 1862

Commander in Chief: President Abraham Lincoln

Vice-President: Hannibal Hamlin

Secretary of War: Simon Cameron

Secretary of the Navy: Gideon Welles

Pacific Squadron: John Berrien Montgomery
Potomac Flotilla: James Harmon Ward

General–in-Chief: Winfield Scott

Department of Annapolis: Benjamin Franklin Butler awaited

Department of the East: John Ellis Wool

Department of Florida: Harvey Brown

Department of New Mexico: Vacant

Department of the Ohio: George Brinton McClellan awaited

Department of the Pacific: Edwin Vose Sumner awaited

  • District of Oregon: George Wright

Department of Pennsylvania: Robert Patterson

Department of Texas: Vacant

Department of Utah: Philip St George Cooke

Department of Washington: Joseph King Fenno Mansfield

Department of the West: Edmund Brooke Alexander temporary

Confederate Organisation

CSA: The Forces in the Kanawha Valley was established, comprising forces recruited in western Virginia.

CSA: Colonel of Virginia Militia Christopher Quarles Tompkins assumed command of the Forces in the Kanawha Valley.

Tompkins, Christopher Quarles / Virginia / Born 4 August 1813 Mathews, Virginia / Died 28 May 1877
USMA 1 July 1836 27/49 Infantry / Cadet USMA 1 July 1832 / 3rd US Artillery 1 July 1836 / 2nd Lieutenant USA 31 August 1836 / 1st Lieutenant USA 7 July 1838 / Captain USA 18 June 1846 / Resigned USA 22 September 1847 / Colonel Virginia Militia April 1861 / Colonel PACS 22nd Virginia Infantry 3 May 1861 / Resigned PACS 23 November 1861 / Brevet 2nd Lieutenant USA 1 July 1836
Forces in the Kanawha Valley 3 May 1861-6 June 1861

Commander in Chief: President Jefferson Finis Davis

Vice-President: Alexander Hamilton Stephens

Secretary of War: Leroy Pope Walker

Secretary of the Navy: Stephen Russell Mallory

Department of Alexandria: Philip St George Cocke

  • Alexandria Line: Philip St George Cocke

Department of North Carolina: Theophilus Hunter Holmes

  • Defences of North Carolina: Theophilus Hunter Holmes

Department of South Carolina: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard

  • “Forces in Charleston”: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard

Department of Texas: Earl Van Dorn

Department of West Florida: Braxton Bragg

  • “Forces in Pensacola”: Braxton Bragg

District of Louisiana: David Emanuel Twiggs

  • “Forces in New Orleans” “Army of Louisiana”: Braxton Bragg

Defences of Savannah: Alexander Robert Lawton

Potomac Line: Daniel Ruggles

“Forces in Harper’s Ferry”: Thomas Jonathan Jackson

“Forces in Norfolk”: Walter Gwynn

Forces in Richmond: Joseph Eggleston Johnston

Forces in the Kanawha Valley: Christopher Quarles Tompkins

Union Generals

Note: Italics, awaiting confirmation of the commission

Major-General USA

Winfield Scott

Brigadier-General USA

John Ellis Wool
William Selby Harney
Edwin Vose Sumner

Confederate Generals

Note: Italics, awaiting confirmation of the commission

Major-General PACS

David Emanuel Twiggs

Brigadier-General ACSA

Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard
Braxton Bragg

Brigadier-General PACS

Alexander Robert Lawton
Milledge Lake Bonham

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close