1861 May 11th

May 11 1861 Saturday

Missouri. Pro-secession riots continued to break out in St Louis. A mob fired on a company of Union Home Guards. The Home Guards replied, and the exchange resulted in the deaths of three Guardsmen and four civilians.

Missouri. Union Brigadier-General William Selby Harney reasserted his command of the Department of the West over Captain Nathaniel Lyon, who had been acting against armed pro-secession groups under the direction of US Representative Francis Preston Blair Jr. Harney issued a proclamation, announcing his determination to enforce order and the authority of the Federal government.

South Carolina. The stream frigate USS Niagara arrived off Charleston to enforce the blockade of the port.

Union Organisation

USA: Brigadier-General William Selby Harney resumed command of the Department of the West.

Harney, William Selby / Tennessee / Born 27 August 1800 Haysboro, Tennessee / 2nd Lieutenant USA 1st US Infantry 1818 2nd Lieutenant USA 1st US Infantry 1819 1st US Artillery 1821 1st US Infantry 1822 Captain USA 1st US Infantry 1825 Major USA Staff 1835 / Lieutenant-Colonel USA 2nd US Dragoons 1836 / Colonel USA 2nd US Dragoons 1846 / Colonel 1848 Brigadier-General USA June 14 1858 Relieved 29 May 1861 Retired August 1 1863 / Died 9 May 1889 / 1 January 1861 – 22 April 1861 Department of the West, May 11 1861 – 30 May 1861 Department of the West

Commander in Chief: President Abraham Lincoln

Vice-President: Hannibal Hamlin

Secretary of War: Simon Cameron

Secretary of the Navy: Gideon Welles

  • Coast Blockading Squadron USN: Flag Officer Silas Horton Stringham USN
  • Gulf Blockading Squadron USN: Flag Officer William Mervine USN
  • Pacific Squadron USN: Captain John B Montgomery USN
  • Potomac Flotilla USN: Commander James Harmon Ward USN

General–in-Chief: Winfield Scott

  • Department of Annapolis: Benjamin Franklin Butler awaited
  • Department of the East: John Ellis Wool
  • Department of Florida: Harvey Brown
  • Department of New Mexico: Vacant
  • Department of the Ohio: George Brinton McClellan awaited
  • Department of the Pacific: Edwin Vose Sumner
    • District of Oregon: George Wright
  • Department of Pennsylvania: Robert Patterson
  • Department of Texas: Vacant
  • Department of Utah: Philip St George Cooke
  • Department of Washington: Joseph King Fenno Mansfield
  • Department of the West: William Selby Harney

Confederate Organisation

CSA: Benjamin McCulloch promoted Brigadier-General PACS 11 May 1861.

McCulloch, Benjamin | Tennessee | Born 11 November 1811 Rutherford, Tennessee | 2nd Lieutenant Army of Texas 1835 1st Lieutenant Army of Texas 21 April 1836 1st Lieutenant Texas Rangers 1838-1839 Army of Texas 1842-1845 Captain USV 1st Texas Cavalry 1846 Major USV 1st Texas Cavalry 1847-1848 Colonel PACS Texas Cavalry 14 February 1861 Brigadier-General PACS 11 May 1861 | CIA Ciudad Mier 1842 | KIA Pea Ridge 7 March 1862 | 13 May 1861 – 9 September 1861 Indian Territory, 2 July 1861 – 2 August 1861 Forces in Missouri, 4 August 1861 – 19 January 1862 Western Army, 10 September 1861 – 21 November 1861 District of the Indian Territory

Commander in Chief: President Jefferson Finis Davis

Vice-President: Alexander Hamilton Stephens

Secretary of War: Leroy Pope Walker

Secretary of the Navy: Stephen Russell Mallory

  • Department of Alexandria: Philip St George Cocke
    • Alexandria Line: Philip St George Cocke
  • Department of North Carolina: Theophilus Hunter Holmes
    • Defences of North Carolina: Theophilus Hunter Holmes
  • Department of South Carolina: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard
    • “Forces in Charleston”: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard
  • Department of Southwestern Virginia: William Wing Loring
  • Department of Texas: Earl Van Dorn
  • Department of West Florida: Braxton Bragg
    • “Forces in Pensacola”: Braxton Bragg
  • District of Louisiana: David Emanuel Twiggs
    • “Forces in New Orleans” “Army of Louisiana”: Braxton Bragg
  • Defences of Savannah: Alexander Robert Lawton
  • Potomac Line: Daniel Ruggles
  • Forces in Harper’s Ferry”: Thomas Jonathan Jackson
  • “Forces in Norfolk”: Walter Gwynn
  • Forces in Richmond: John Bankhead Magruder
  • Forces in the Kanawha Valley: Christopher Quarles Tompkins

Union Generals

  • Major-General USA Winfield Scott 5 July 1841 to rank from 25 June 1841 General-in-Chief
  • Brigadier-General USA John Ellis Wool 25 June 1841 Department of the East
  • Brigadier-General USA William Selby Harney 14 June 1858 Department of the West
  • Brigadier-General USA Edwin Vose Sumner 16 March 1861 Department of the Pacific
  • Colonel Joseph King Fenno Mansfield 28 May 1853 Department of Washington
  • Colonel George Wright 3 March 1855 District of Oregon
  • Colonel Philip St George Cooke 14 June 1858 Department of Utah
  • Lieutenant-Colonel Harvey Brown 28 April 1861 Department of Florida
  • State Major-General Robert Patterson Department of Pennsylvania
  • State Major-General George Brinton McClellan Department of the Ohio awaited
  • State Brigadier-General Benjamin Franklin Butler Department of Annapolis awaited

Confederate Generals

  • Major-General PACS David Emanuel Twiggs March 22 1861 District of Louisiana
  • Brigadier-General ACSA Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard March 1 1861 Department of South Carolina & Forces in Charleston
  • Brigadier-General ACSA Braxton Bragg March 7 1861 Forces in Louisiana & Department of West Florida & Forces in Pensacola & Forces in New Orleans
  • Brigadier-General PACS Alexander Robert Lawton 13 April 1861 Defences of Savannah
  • Brigadier-General PACS Milledge Luke Bonham 23 April 1861
  • Brigadier-General PACS Benjamin McCulloch 11 May 1861
  • Colonel Earl Van Dorn 16 March 1861 Department of Texas
  • Colonel Theophilus Hunter Holmes March 1861 Department of North Carolina & Defences of North Carolina
  • Colonel Thomas Jonathan Jackson 21 April 1861 Forces in Harper’s Ferry
  • Colonel John Bankhead Magruder 16 May 1861 Forces in Richmond
  • Colonel William Wing Loring Department of Southwestern Virginia
  • State Major-General Walter Gwynn 10 April 1861 Forces in Norfolk
  • State Brigadier-General Philip St George Cocke 21 April 1861 Department of Alexandria & Alexandria Line
  • State Brigadier-General Daniel Ruggles May 1861 Potomac Line
  • Colonel Christopher Quarles Tompkins Forces in the Kanawha Valley
%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close