1861 March 9th

March 9 1861 Saturday

Go to March 10 1861

Missouri. The Missouri Committee on US Relations reported a series of resolutions, setting forth that at present “there was no adequate cause to impel Missouri to leave the Union, but that on the contrary she will labour for such an adjustment of existing troubles as would secure peace and the rights and equality of all the States; that the people of Missouri regard the amendments to the Constitution proposed by M Crittenden, with their extension to territory hereafter to be acquired, a basis of adjustment which would forever remove all difficulties; and that it was expedient for the Missouri state legislature to call a convention for proposing amendments to the United States Constitution”.
The Missouri Senate passed resolutions that their Senators be instructed, and Missouri’s Representatives requested, to “oppose the passage of all acts granting supplies of men and money to coerce the seceding states into submission or subjugation; and that, should such acts be passed by the US Congress, Missouri’s Senators would be instructed, and Missouri’s Representatives requested, to retire from the halls of Congress”.

Union Organisation

Commander in Chief: President Abraham Lincoln
Vice-President: Hannibal Hamlin
Secretary of War: Simon Cameron
Secretary of the Navy: Gideon Welles

African Squadron: William Inman
Brazil Squadron: Joshua Ratoon Sands
East Indian (Asiatic) Squadron: Cornelius Kinchiloe Stribling
European Squadron: vacant
Home Squadron: Garrett J Prendergast
Mediterranean Squadron: Charles H Bell
Pacific Squadron: John Berrien Montgomery

General–in-Chief: Winfield Scott

Department of the East: John Ellis Wool

Department of New Mexico: Thomas T Fauntleroy interim, William Wing Loring awaited

Department of the Pacific: Albert Sidney Johnston

  • District of Oregon: George Wright

Department of Texas: Carlos Adolphus Waite

Department of Utah: Philip St George Cooke

Department of the West: William Selby Harney

Confederate Organisation

Commander in Chief: President Jefferson Finis Davis
Vice-President: Alexander Hamilton Stephens
Secretary of War: Leroy Pope Walker
Secretary of the Navy: Stephen Russell Mallory

“Department of Louisiana”: Braxton Bragg

  • “Forces in New Orleans” “Army of Louisiana”: Braxton Bragg

Department of South Carolina: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard

  • “Forces in Charleston”: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard

Department of West Florida: Braxton Bragg awaited

  • “Forces in Pensacola”: Braxton Bragg awaited

Union Generals

Major-General USA

Winfield Scott

Brigadier-General USA

John Ellis Wool
David Emanuel Twiggs

Brigadier-General USA (Staff)

Joseph Eggleston Johnston

Confederate Generals

Brigadier-General ACSA

Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard
Braxton Bragg

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close