1861 March 27th

March 27 1861 Wednesday

Dakota Territory. William Jayne became Governor of Dakota Territory.

Florida. Reconnaissance at Santa Rosa Island began.

Louisiana. The Louisiana state convention adjourned, without setting a day for reassembling.

Missouri. The Missouri House passed a resolution that it was inexpedient for the Missouri General Assembly to take any steps calling a National Convention to propose amendments to the United States Constitution, as recommended by the Missouri state convention.

Union Organisation

Commander in Chief: President Abraham Lincoln

Vice-President: Hannibal Hamlin

Secretary of War: Simon Cameron

Secretary of the Navy: Gideon Welles

  • African Squadron USN: Captain William Inman USN
  • Brazil Squadron USN: Captain Joshua R Sands USN.
  • East Indian (Asiatic) Squadron USN: Captain Cornelius K Stribling USN
  • European Squadron USN: vacant
  • Home Squadron USN: Captain Garrett J Prendergast USN
  • Mediterranean Squadron USN: Captain Charles H Bell USN
  • Pacific Squadron USN: Captain John B Montgomery USN

General–in-Chief: Winfield Scott

  • Department of the East: John Ellis Wool
  • Department of New Mexico: William Wing Loring
  • Department of the Pacific: Albert Sidney Johnston interim, Edwin Vose Sumner awaited
    • District of Oregon: George Wright
  • Department of Texas: Carlos Adolphus Waite
  • Department of Utah: Philip St George Cooke
  • Department of the West: William Selby Harney

Confederate Organisation

CSA: Colonel Lucius Bellinger Northrop appointed Commissary General of Subsistence.

Northrop, Lucius Bellinger | South Carolina | Born 8 September 1811 Charleston, South Carolina | USMA 1831 22/33 Infantry – Dragoons | 7th US Infantry 1st US Dragoons 2nd Lieutenant USA 1st US Dragoons 21 July 1834 1st Lieutenant USA 1st US Dragoons 4 July 1836 Dropped from Rolls 8 January 1848 1st Lieutenant USA 1st US Dragoons 4 July 1836 Captain USA 1st US Dragoons 21 July 1848 Resigned USA 8 January 1861 Colonel PACS Commissary General 27 March 1861 Brigadier-General PACS (Special) Commissary General November 26 1864 unconfirmed Relieved February 15 1865 | WIA Seminole War 1835 | Died 9 February 1894 | 27 March 19861- 15 February 1865 Commissary-Genera; of Subsistence

Commander in Chief: President Jefferson Finis Davis

Vice-President: Alexander Hamilton Stephens

Secretary of War: Leroy Pope Walker

Secretary of the Navy: Stephen Russell Mallory

  • “Department of Louisiana”: David Emanuel Twiggs
    • “Forces in New Orleans” “Army of Louisiana”: Braxton Bragg
  • Department of South Carolina: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard
    • “Forces in Charleston”: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard
  • Department of West Florida: Braxton Bragg
    • “Forces in Pensacola”: Braxton Bragg

Union Generals

  • Major-General USA Winfield Scott 5 July 1841 to rank from 25 June 1841 General-in-Chief
  • Brigadier-General USA John Ellis Wool 25 June 1841 Department of the East
  • Brigadier-General USA William Selby Harney 14 June 1858 Department of the West
  • Brigadier-General USA Joseph Eggleston Johnston 28 June 1860 Quartermaster-General
  • Brigadier-General USA Edwin Vose Sumner 16 March 1861 Department of the Pacific awaited
  • Colonel George Wright 3 March 1855 District of Oregon
  • Colonel Albert Sidney Johnston 3 March 1855 Department of the Pacific interim
  • Colonel William Wing Loring 30 December 1856 Department of New Mexico
  • Colonel Philip St George Cooke 14 June 1858 Department of Utah
  • Colonel Carlos Adolphus Waite 5 June 1860 Department of Texas temporary

Confederate Generals

  • Major-General PACS David Emanuel Twiggs 22 March 1861 Department of Louisiana
  • Brigadier-General ACSA Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard 1 March 1861 Department of South Carolina & Forces in South Carolina
  • Brigadier-General ACSA Braxton Bragg 7 March 1861 Department of West Florida & Forces in Louisiana & Forces in Pensacola


%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close