1861 June 14th

June 14 1861 Friday

Chesapeake Bay Blockade
McClellan’s West Virginia Campaign
Lyon’s Operations in Missouri

Go to June 15 1861

CSA. Robert Edward Lee was promoted from Brigadier-General to General in the Regular Confederate Army (ACSA). His seniority as General ranked below Albert Sidney Johnston, who had not yet arrived from California, and only technically below Samuel Cooper who, as Adjutant-General and Inspector-General, held a staff commission that would not confer seniority in field command. As such, he was temporarily the most senior Confederate officer on active duty.

California. Incident at Eel River and South Fork Eel River.

Maryland. Elections resulted in the election of pro-Union candidates in all but one seat.

Maryland. A skirmish occurred between Union forces under Brigadier-General Charles Pomeroy Stone and Confederate cavalry at Seneca Mills.

Missouri. Jefferson City was occupied by Union forces.

Virginia. Confederate Brigadier-General Joseph Eggleston Johnston completed the evacuation of Harper’s Ferry after receiving word of the approach of the Union Army of Occupation from the west under Major-General George Brinton McClellan, and from the north under Major-General of Pennsylvania Militia Robert Patterson. Johnston withdrew his force to the vicinity of Winchester.

Virginia. The American schooner Christiana Ken ran aground and was burned by Confederates near Upper Machodoc Creek.

Virginia. Confederate efforts to build a navy were underway. The former US frigate United States was acting as a school ship, equipped with a deck battery of nineteen 32-pounder and 9-inch Columbiads, intended for harbour defence. The former USS Merrimack was already raised and was in dry dock for conversion into an ironclad warship Plans were underway for raising the USS Germantown and USS Plymouth and repairing them for Confederate use.

Virginia. Six Confederate batteries had been erected on the Elizabeth River to guard the approaches to Norfolk and the Gosport Navy Yard. They would also prevent the ascent of the Nansemond River and the interruption of the railroad from Norfolk to Richmond. Three more batteries had been constructed on the Potomac River, and further sites are being selected for batteries. The batteries at Aquia Creek had been prepared but were not yet equipped. A four-gun battery had been erected on the Rappahannock River.

Union Organisation

USA: The Army of Occupation was established for operations in western Virginia in western Virginia in the Department of the Ohio.
USA: Major-General George Brinton McClellan assumed command of the Army of Occupation.

USA: John Pope confirmed Brigadier-General USV 14 June 1861 to rank from 17 May 1861.

USA: Joseph Jones Reynolds confirmed Brigadier-General USV 14 June 1861 to rank from 17 May 1861.

USA: Stephen Augustus Hurlbut confirmed Brigadier-General USV 14 June 1861 to rank from 17 May 1861.

Commander in Chief: President Abraham Lincoln
Vice-President: Hannibal Hamlin
Secretary of War: Simon Cameron
Secretary of the Navy: Gideon Welles

Atlantic Blockading Squadron: Silas Horton Stringham
Gulf Blockading Squadron: William Mervine
Pacific Squadron: John Berrien Montgomery
West Indies Squadron: Garrett J Pendergrast
Western Gunboat Flotilla: John Rodgers
Potomac Flotilla: James Harmon Ward

General–in-Chief: Winfield Scott

Department of Annapolis: Nathaniel Prentiss Banks

Department of the East: John Ellis Wool

Department of Florida: Harvey Brown

Department of Kentucky: Robert Anderson

Department of New Mexico: Edward Richard Sprigg Canby

Department of Northeastern Virginia: Irvin McDowell

Department of the Ohio: George Brinton McClellan

  • Army of Occupation: George Brinton McClellan

Department of the Pacific: Edwin Vose Sumner

  • District of Oregon: George Wright

Department of Pennsylvania: Robert Patterson

  • Army of the Shenandoah: Robert Patterson

Department of Texas: Vacant

Department of Utah: Philip St George Cooke

Department of Virginia: Benjamin Franklin Butler

Department of Washington: Joseph King Fenno Mansfield

Department of the West: Nathaniel Lyon

Confederate Organisation

CSA: The Department of the Peninsula was extended to include Gloucester Point, Virginia.

CSA: Robert Edward Lee was promoted General ACSA 14 June 1861.

Commander in Chief: President Jefferson Finis Davis
Vice-President: Alexander Hamilton Stephens
Secretary of War: Leroy Pope Walker
Secretary of the Navy: Stephen Russell Mallory

Military Adviser to the President: Robert Edward Lee

Department No 1: David Emanuel Twiggs

  • “Forces in New Orleans” “Army of Louisiana”: Braxton Bragg

Department of Fredericksburg: Theophilus Hunter Holmes

Department of the Potomac: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard

  • Army of the Potomac: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard

Department of Norfolk: Benjamin Huger

Department of North Carolina: Theophilus Hunter Holmes

  • Defences of North Carolina: Theophilus Hunter Holmes

Department of the Peninsula: Daniel Harvey Hill temporary

  • Army of the Peninsula: Daniel Harvey Hill temporary

Department of South Carolina: Daniel Harvey Hill

Department of Southwestern Virginia: William Wing Loring

Department of Texas: Earl Van Dorn

Department of West Florida: Braxton Bragg

  • “Forces in Pensacola”: Braxton Bragg

Defences of Savannah: Alexander Robert Lawton

Indian Territory: Benjamin McCulloch

Forces in Harper’s Ferry”: Joseph Eggleston Johnston

Forces in Richmond: Thomas Turner Fauntleroy

Army of the Kanawha: Henry Alexander Wise

Army of the Northwest: Robert Selden Garnett

Union Generals

Note: Italics, awaiting confirmation of the commission

Major-General USA

Winfield Scott
George Brinton McClellan
John Charles Frémont

Major-General USV

John Adams Dix
Nathaniel Prentiss Banks
Benjamin Franklin Butler

Brigadier-General USA

John Ellis Wool
William Selby Harney
Edwin Vose Sumner
Joseph King Fenno Mansfield
Irvin McDowell
Robert Anderson
William Starke Rosecrans

Brigadier-General USV

Samuel Peter Heintzelman
David Hunter
Erasmus Darwin Keyes
Andrew Porter
Fitz-John Porter
William Buel Franklin
William Tecumseh Sherman
Charles Pomeroy Stone
Don Carlos Buell
Thomas West Sherman
Nathaniel Lyon
John Pope
George Archibald McCall
William Reading Montgomery
Philip Kearny
Joseph Hooker
John Wolcott Phelps
Ulysses Simpson Grant
Joseph Jones Reynolds
Samuel Ryan Curtis
Charles Smith Hamilton
Darius Nash Couch
Rufus King
Jacob Dolson Cox
Stephen Augustus Hurlbut
Franz Sigel
Robert Cumming Schenck
Benjamin Mayberry Prentiss
Frederick West Lander
Benjamin Franklin Kelley
John Alexander McClernand
Alpheus Starkey Williams
Israel Bush Richardson
James Cooper

Brigadier-General USA (Staff)

Montgomery Cunningham Meigs

Confederate Generals

Note: Italics, awaiting confirmation of the commission

General ACSA

Samuel Cooper
Albert Sidney Johnston
Robert Edward Lee

Major-General PACS

David Emanuel Twiggs

Brigadier-General ACSA

Joseph Eggleston Johnston
Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard
Braxton Bragg

Brigadier-General PACS

Alexander Robert Lawton
Milledge Lake Bonham
Benjamin McCulloch
William Wing Loring
Charles Clark
John Buchanan Floyd
William Henry Talbot Walker
Henry Rootes Jackson
Theophilus Hunter Holmes
Henry Alexander Wise
Earl Van Dorn
Robert Selden Garnett

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close