1861 January 15th

January 15 1861 Tuesday

Go to January 16 1861

USA. John Adams Dix was appointed US Secretary of the Treasury.

Arkansas. The Arkansas state legislature passed the Convention Bill.

California. Colonel Albert Sidney Johnston assumed command of the Department of the Pacific. At one time he had been a Brigadier-General of the army of the independent Republic of Texas in the 1830s. He then had rejoined the US Army in 1849 and assumed command of the 2nd US Cavalry as its Colonel in 1855. Johnston was considered by many to be one of the foremost military commanders in North America. He subsequently became the senior field General of the Confederate States.

Florida. The US Coast Survey steamer Dana was seized by Florida State troops at St Augustine.

Florida. A second demand for the surrender of Fort Pickens was refused by the garrison commander US Army Lieutenant Adam Jacoby Slemmer.

Missouri. The Missouri House and Senate passed the Convention Bill.

Pennsylvania. Andrew G Curtin succeeded William F Packer as Governor of Pennsylvania.

South Carolina. The South Carolina Commissioner to Washington, DC, demanded the withdrawal of the US garrison from Fort Sumter.

Union Organisation

USA: The Department of California was discontinued, and its area was included in the Department of the Pacific.
USA: The Department of the Pacific was established, comprising the area west of the Rocky Mountains except for the part of Utah Territory east of 117 degrees west longitude and except for New Mexico Territory east of 110 degrees west longitude.
USA: Colonel Albert Sidney Johnston assumed command of the Department of the Pacific.
Johnston, Albert Sidney / Kentucky-Louisiana / Born 2 February 1803 Washington, Kentucky / KIA Shiloh, Tennessee 6 April 1862
USMA 1 July 1826 8/41 Infantry / Cadet USMA 1 July 1822 / 2nd US Infantry 1 July 1826 / 2nd Lieutenant USA 6th US Infantry 1 July 1826 / Regt Adjutant 14 September 1828-7 September 1832 / Resigned USA 31 May 1834 / Colonel USV Illinois Assistant Adjutant-General 1832 / Private Republic of Texas Army 1836 / Major Republic of Texas Army ADC (S Houston) 1836 / Colonel Republic of Texas Army Adjutant-General 5 August 1836 / Brigadier-General Republic of Texas Army 31 January 1837 / Resigned Republic of Texas Army February 1840 / Colonel USV 1st Texas Rifles 8 July 1846 / / Mustered Out USV 24 August 1846 / Assistant Adjutant-General September 1846-October 1846 / Major USA Paymaster 31 October 1849 / Colonel USA 2nd US Cavalry 3 March 1855 / Defected to CSA 23 February 1861 / Resigned USA 10 April 1861 to date from 3 May 1861 / General ACSA 31 August 1861 to rank from 30 May 1861 / Brevet 2nd Lieutenant USA 1 July 1826 Brevet Brigadier-General USA 18 November 1857
Department of the Pacific 22 November 1860-24 April 1861

USA: The Department of Oregon was discontinued, and its area incorporated into the new Department of the Pacific.
USA: The District of Oregon was established in the Department of the Pacific, comprising the state of Oregon and Washington Territory except for the areas of the Rogue and Umpqua Rivers.
USA: Colonel George Wright (9th US Infantry) assumed command of the District of Oregon.
Wright, George / Vermont / Born 21 October 1803 Norwich, Vermont / Died Crescent City, California 30 July 1865
USMA 1 July 1822 24/40 Infantry / Cadet USMA 4 September 1818 / 2nd Lieutenant USA 3rd US Infantry 1 July 1822 / 1st Lieutenant USA 23 September 1827 / Regt Adjutant 1 February 1831-30 October 1836 / Captain USA 30 October 1836 / 8th US Infantry 7 July 1838 / Major USA 4th US Infantry 1 January 1848 / Lieutenant-Colonel USA 3 February 1855 / Colonel USA 9th US Infantry 3 March 1855 / Brigadier-General USV 28 September 1861 / Brevet Major USA 15 March 1842 Brevet Lieutenant-Colonel USA 20 August 1847 Brevet Colonel USA 8 September 1847 Brevet Brigadier-General USA 19 December 1864 / WIA Molino del Rey 8 September 1847
Department of Oregon 8 June 1860-15 January 1861 / District of Oregon 15 January 1861-13 September 1861 / District of Southern California 14 September 1861-14 October 1861 / Department of the Pacific 20 October 1861-21 May 1864 / District of California 1 July 1864-27 July 1865 / Department of the Columbia 27 June 1865-20 July 1865

Commander in Chief: President James Buchanan
Vice-President: John Cabell Breckinridge
Secretary of War: Joseph Holt
Secretary of the Navy: Isaac Toucey

African Squadron: William Inman
Brazil Squadron: Joshua Ratoon Sands
East Indian (Asiatic) Squadron: Cornelius Kinchiloe Stribling
European Squadron: vacant
Home Squadron: Garrett J Prendergast
Mediterranean Squadron: Charles H Bell
Pacific Squadron: John Berrien Montgomery

General–in-Chief: Winfield Scott

Department of the Pacific established: Albert Sidney Johnston

  • District of Oregon: George Wright

Department of the East: John Ellis Wool

Department of New Mexico: Thomas Turner Fauntleroy

Department of Texas: David Emanuel Twiggs

Department of Utah: Philip St George Cooke

Department of the West: William Selby Harney

Union Generals

Major-General USA

Winfield Scott

Brigadier-General USA

John Ellis Wool
David Emanuel Twiggs
William Selby Harney

Brigadier-General USA (Staff)

Joseph Eggleston Johnston

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close