1861 February 21st

February 21 1861 Thursday

Go to February 22 1861

CSA. The Confederate Cabinet was chosen at Montgomery, Alabama. President Jefferson Finis Davis proposed the following members, seeking to represent all of the seceded states:

Judah Philip Benjamin, Louisiana – Attorney General
Stephen Russell Mallory, Florida – Secretary of Navy
Christopher G Memminger, South Carolina – Secretary of the Treasury
John H Reagan, Texas – Postmaster General
Robert Augustus Toombs, Georgia – Secretary of State
Leroy Pope Walker, Alabama – Secretary of War

CSA. The Provisional Confederate Government authorised and established the creation of the War Department and the Navy Department to direct the military forces of the Confederate States.

Georgia. Three New York ships were seized at Savannah by order of the Georgia governor in retaliation against the confiscation of military cargo by New York state authorities in January.

Texas. Camp Cooper was abandoned by US troops.

Texas. The US post at Brazos Santiago was seized by Texas state forces.

Union Organisation

Commander in Chief: President James Buchanan
Vice-President: John Cabell Breckinridge
Secretary of War: Joseph Holt
Secretary of the Navy: Isaac Toucey

African Squadron: William Inman
Brazil Squadron: Joshua Ratoon Sands
East Indian (Asiatic) Squadron: Cornelius Kinchiloe Stribling
European Squadron: vacant
Home Squadron: Garrett J Prendergast
Mediterranean Squadron: Charles H Bell
Pacific Squadron: John Berrien Montgomery

General–in-Chief: Winfield Scott

Department of the East: John Ellis Wool

Department of New Mexico: Thomas Turner Fauntleroy interim, William Wing Loring awaited

Department of the Pacific: Albert Sidney Johnston

  • District of Oregon: George Wright

Department of Texas: Carlos Adolphus Waite temporary

Department of Utah: Philip St George Cooke

Department of the West: William Selby Harney

Confederate Organisation

President: Jefferson Finis Davis
Vice-President: Alexander Hamilton Stephens
Secretary of War: Leroy Pope Walker
Secretary of the Navy: Stephen Russell Mallory

Union Generals

Major-General USA

Winfield Scott

Brigadier-General USA

John Ellis Wool
David Emanuel Twiggs
William Selby Harney

Brigadier-General USA (Staff)

Joseph Eggleston Johnston

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close