1861 February 19th

February 19 1861 Tuesday

Go to February 20 1861

Louisiana. New Orleans was occupied by Louisiana State troops. The US Paymaster’s Office and its contents were seized.

New York. US President-elect Abraham Lincoln arrived in New York City and gave a speech to the assembled crowd.

Texas. US Brigadier-General David Emanuel Twiggs would surrender all US military posts and property in Texas to Confederate forces on 28 February 1861. Since Texas had not yet ratified the ordinance of secession, Twiggs committed what some considered a treasonous act, and in anticipation of Twiggs’ actions Colonel Carlos Adolphus Waite, commanding the 1st US Infantry at Camp Verde, took effective command of what remained of US forces in the state.

Union Organisation

USA: Colonel Carlos Adolphus Waite (1st US Infantry) assumed temporary command of the Department of Texas, replacing Brigadier-General David Emanuel Twiggs.

Commander in Chief: President James Buchanan
Vice-President: John Cabell Breckinridge
Secretary of War: Joseph Holt
Secretary of the Navy: Isaac Toucey

African Squadron: William Inman
Brazil Squadron: Joshua Ratoon Sands
East Indian (Asiatic) Squadron: Cornelius Kinchiloe Stribling
European Squadron: vacant
Home Squadron: Garrett J Prendergast
Mediterranean Squadron: Charles H Bell
Pacific Squadron: John Berrien Montgomery

General–in-Chief: Winfield Scott

Department of the East: John Ellis Wool

Department of New Mexico: Thomas Turner Fauntleroy interim, William Wing Loring awaited

Department of the Pacific: Albert Sidney Johnston

  • District of Oregon: George Wright

Department of Texas: Carlos Adolphus Waite temporary

Department of Utah: Philip St George Cooke

  • Department of the West: William Selby Harney

Confederate Organisation

President: Jefferson Finis Davis
Vice-President: Alexander Hamilton Stephens

Union Generals

Major-General USA

Winfield Scott

Brigadier-General USA

John Ellis Wool
David Emanuel Twiggs
William Selby Harney

Brigadier-General USA (Staff)

Joseph Eggleston Johnston

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close