1861 April 5th

April 5 1861 Friday

Go to April 6 1861

South Carolina. US President Abraham Lincoln gave final orders for a substantial naval expedition to be sent to relieve Fort Sumter. USS Powhatan and USS Pawnee (two steam-driven sloops), USS Pocahontas (armed screw steamer), and the US Revenue Cutter Harriet Lane were ordered to re-provision the garrison at Fort Sumter. The squadron commander was Captain Samuel Mercer USN. The steamer Baltic carried about 200 soldiers from the 2nd US Artillery (Companies C and D), and three tug boats were provided to help in landing the troops as reinforcements for the fort.

Texas. Fort Quitman was surrendered to the Texas authorities.  The US Army garrison had been reduced to one officer (2nd Lieutenant Zenas Bliss) and 20 men. Bliss and his men were ordered to march to San Antonio, joining other Federal troops evacuating garrisons in western Texas. They believed they would be put on ships and sent to the North, but instead, they were held as prisoners of war.

Union Organisation

Commander in Chief: President Abraham Lincoln
Vice-President: Hannibal Hamlin
Secretary of War: Simon Cameron
Secretary of the Navy: Gideon Welles

African Squadron: William Inman
Brazil Squadron: Joshua Ratoon Sands
East Indian (Asiatic) Squadron: Cornelius Kinchiloe Stribling
European Squadron: vacant
Home Squadron: Garrett J Prendergast
Mediterranean Squadron: Charles H Bell
Pacific Squadron: John Berrien Montgomery

General–in-Chief: Winfield Scott

Department of the East: John Ellis Wool

Department of New Mexico: William Wing Loring

Department of the Pacific: Albert Sidney Johnston interim, Edwin Vose Sumner awaited

  • District of Oregon: George Wright

Department of Texas: Carlos Adolphus Waite

Department of Utah: Philip St George Cooke

Department of the West: William Selby Harney

Confederate Organisation

Commander in Chief: President Jefferson Finis Davis
Vice-President: Alexander Hamilton Stephens
Secretary of War: Leroy Pope Walker
Secretary of the Navy: Stephen Russell Mallory

“Department of Louisiana”: David Emanuel Twiggs

  • “Forces in New Orleans” “Army of Louisiana”: Braxton Bragg

Department of South Carolina: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard

  • “Forces in Charleston”: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard

Department of West Florida: Braxton Bragg

  • “Forces in Pensacola”: Braxton Bragg

Forces in Harper’s Ferry”: Kenton Harper

Union Generals

Major-General USA

Winfield Scott

Brigadier-General USA

John Ellis Wool
William Selby Harney
Edwin Vose Sumner

Brigadier-General USA (Staff)

Joseph Eggleston Johnston

Confederate Generals

Major-General PACS

David Emanuel Twiggs

Brigadier-General ACSA

Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard
Braxton Bragg

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close