1861 April 11th

April 11 1861 Thursday

Fort Sumter Operations

District of Columbia. The members of the Confederate Peace Commission to Washington left the capital.

New York. The US steamship Coatzacoalcos docked in New York, bringing Union troops withdrawn from the Union garrisons in Texas.

South Carolina. In the name of the Confederate Government, Brigadier-General Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard demanded the surrender of Fort Sumter. Beauregard dispatched three aides including Colonel James Chesnut Jr, Captain Stephen Dill Lee and Lieutenant A R Chisholm to Fort Sumter to issue a final ultimatum. The Union garrison commander Major Robert Anderson refused again although he was aware that he could only endure a few more days without supplies. He was playing for time but Beauregard was authorised by the CS Secretary of War, Leroy Pope Walker to commence hostilities if an immediate surrender was not forthcoming. The aides left for Fort Johnson at about 3 am on April 12th 1861, and Colonel Chesnut reported to Beauregard that the ultimatum would not be complied with.

Virginia. Commander James Alden USN was ordered to take command of USS Merrimack in the Norfolk Navy Yard; Chief Engineer Benjamin Isherwood was sent the next day to put the ship’s engines in work­ing order to permit its evacuation to a Northern port.

Union Organisatiom

Commander in Chief: President Abraham Lincoln

Vice-President: Hannibal Hamlin

Secretary of War: Simon Cameron

Secretary of the Navy: Gideon Welles

  • African Squadron USN: Captain William Inman USN
  • Brazil Squadron USN: Captain Joshua R Sands USN.
  • East Indian (Asiatic) Squadron USN: Captain Cornelius K Stribling USN
  • European Squadron USN: vacant
  • Home Squadron USN: Captain Garrett J Prendergast USN
  • Mediterranean Squadron USN: Captain Charles H Bell USN
  • Pacific Squadron USN: Captain John B Montgomery USN

General–in-Chief: Winfield Scott

  • Department of the East: John Ellis Wool
  • Department of New Mexico: William Wing Loring
  • Department of the Pacific: Albert Sidney Johnston interim Edwin Vose Sumner awaited
    • District of Oregon: George Wright
  • Department of Texas: Carlos Adolphus Waite
  • Department of Utah: Philip St George Cooke
  • Department of Washington: Charles Ferguson Smith
  • Department of the West: William Selby Harney

Confederate Organisation

CSA: The Department of Texas was established.

CSA: Colonel Earl Van Dorn was appointed to command the Department of Texas, arriving on 21st April 1861.

Van Dorn, Earl | Mississippi | Born 17 September 1820 Port Gibson, Mississippi | USMA 1842 52/56 Infantry | 2nd Lieutenant USA 7th US Infantry 30 November 1844 1st Lieutenant USA 7th US Infantry 3 March 1847 Captain USA 2nd US Cavalry 3 March 1855 Major USA 2nd US Cavalry 28 June 1860 Resigned USA 31 January 1861 Major-General Mississippi Militia January 23 1861 Colonel PACS Cavalry March 16 1861 Brigadier-General PACS June 5 1861 Major-General PACS September 19 1861 | WIA Belen Gate 1847 WIA x 4 WIA Wasluta 1858 | Died May 7 1863 | 11 April 1861 – 17 September 1861 Department of Texas, 4 October 1861 – 9 January 1862 I Corps Potomac, 10 January 1862 – 30 May 1862 Trans-Mississippi District, 19 January 1862 – 24 June 1862 Army of the West, 26 May 1862 – 4 September 1862 District of Southern Mississippi and Eastern Louisiana, 20 June 1862 – 25 June 1862 Department No 1, 2 July 1862 – 4 September 1862 District of the Mississippi, 28 September 1862 – 20 November 1862 Army of West Tennessee, 12 October 1862 – 13 October 1862 Department of Mississippi and East Louisiana, 7 December 1862 – 14 December 1862 I Corps Mississippi, 9 December 1862 – 16 December 1862 Army of Mississippi, 16 March 1863 – 6 May 1863 Van Dorn’s Cavalry Corps Tennessee

Commander in Chief: President Jefferson Finis Davis

Vice-President: Alexander Hamilton Stephens

Secretary of War: Leroy Pope Walker

Secretary of the Navy: Stephen Russell Mallory

  • Department of Louisiana: David Emanuel Twiggs
    • “Forces in New Orleans” “Army of Louisiana”: Braxton Bragg
  • Department of South Carolina: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard
    • “Forces in Charleston”: Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard
  • Department of Texas established: Earl Van Dorn awaited
  • Department of West Florida: Braxton Bragg
    • “Forces in Pensacola”: Braxton Bragg
  • Forces in Harper’s Ferry”: Kenton Harper

Union Generals

  • Major-General USA Winfield Scott 5 July 1841 to rank from 25 June 1841 General-in-Chief
  • Brigadier-General USA John Ellis Wool 25 June 1841 Department of the East
  • Brigadier-General USA William Selby Harney 14 June 1858 Department of the West
  • Brigadier-General USA Joseph Eggleston Johnston 28 June 1860 Quartermaster-General
  • Brigadier-General USA Edwin Vose Sumner 16 March 1861 Department of the Pacific awaited
  • Colonel George Wright 3 March 1855 District of Oregon
  • Colonel Albert Sidney Johnston 3 March 1855 Department of the Pacific interim
  • Colonel William Wing Loring 30 December 1856 Department of New Mexico
  • Colonel Philip St George Cooke 14 June 1858 Department of Utah
  • Colonel Carlos Adolphus Waite 5 June 1860 Department of Texas temporary
  • Lieutenant-Colonel Charles Ferguson Smith 3 March 1855 Department of Washington

Confederate Generals

  • Major-General PACS David Emanuel Twiggs March 22 1861 Department of Louisiana
  • Brigadier-General ACSA Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard March 1 1861 Department of South Carolina & Forces in Charleston
  • Brigadier-General ACSA Braxton Bragg March 7 1861 Forces in Louisiana & Department of West Florida & Forces in Pensacola
  • Colonel Earl Van Dorn 16 March 1861 Department of Texas awaited
  • Colonel Kenton Harper Forces in Harper’s Ferry



%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close